How to Productize Your Expertise?

How to turn your skills into sellable packages for scalable success? In this newsletter, I dive into a very simple technique called product cards and explain how they can benefit you..

Productization is one of the most important skills if you want to achieve more with less effort.

Think about what you currently do for a living.

What are customers paying you for?

I know many entrepreneurs who do everything custom-made.

There's nothing wrong with that. In fact, these kinds of jobs can bring in significant amounts of money.

The work is largely project-based, with a defined start and end, but everything in between varies from client to client.

This kind of work model doesn’t usually allow for 4-hour workdays, as custom solutions typically require several hours of work each day.

On top of that, you still need to handle customer service, run workshops, and so on.

You end up doing a lot of tailoring...

How do I productize my expertise?

When I started in my current job (as a modern work and AI consultant), I immediately began productizing my expertise into sellable packages.

Most of my work is done in bulk, meaning I train people in modern work methods, focusing on remote work and AI.

Pre-made packages are much easier for customers to buy, and they’re easy to sell.

Each package includes a Q&A session, which allows for personalized support.

So, while the content is produced in bulk, we don’t compromise on personalization.

It takes me about two hours to complete one training package.

If I do 1-2 of these per day, I generate €13,000–€26,000 per month for the company.

This earns me a good salary, and I don’t have to worry about customer acquisition, because the company has a team of salespeople selling my productized expertise.

Summary

As a solopreneur, things aren't quite as easy since you lack an army of salespeople...

However, in my upcoming newsletters, I’ll be sharing tips on how to sell your knowledge in scalable way.

I faced many challenges when I sold my expertise alone, but over time, it became very possible if I really wanted to pursue it.

BR,

Tomi